LOC, AU hold first joint technical meeting with Federation Heads on Accra 2023

Share online

The Local Organising Committee of the 13th African Games (LOC) and the Technical Committee for the Organisation of the African Games (TCAG) have held the first joint technical meeting with heads of various federations in Ghana.

The meeting, which was held at the Alisa Hotel in Accra on Wednesday, February 16, 2022, was in line with the LOC’s strategic programme to update the various local and continental federations about the progress made in Ghana’s preparations to host the African Games.

Ms. Lina Paul Kessy delivering her address to the federations about the general and fundamental regulations of the African Games

Mrs. Kadidiatou Kanoute, the chairperson for the TCAG, opened the address for the programme which was attended by over 30 federations from both Ghana and the rest of Africa.

After the address by Mrs. Kanoute, Dr. Decius Chipande, who is the Coordinator (Head) of the African Union Sports Council, gave a detailed presentation of the history of the African Games before Ms. Lina Paul Kessy delivered a comprehensive report on the general and fundamental regulations of the game.

Below is a list of representatives of federations who attended the event

Bawa Fuseini – Ghana Athletics Association, George Bankole – Handball Association of Ghana, Eng. Samuel Jackson – Armwrestling Association of Ghana, Dennis Moore – Ghana Cycling Association, Bernard Quartey – Boxing, Rita Odei Asare – Hockey, Emmanuel Baidoo – Special Olympics, Seth Nti – Swimming Federation, Mohammed Mahadi – Ghana Fencing, Adnan Lamptey – Ghana Taekwondo, Melvin Brown – Ghana Karate, Emmanuel Tetteh – Ghana Judo, Christiana Ashley – International Chess Federation.

The rest are; Gifty Koshie Mills – Ghana Power Lifting Association, Richmond Quarcoo – Ghana Squash / Africa Squash Association, Norbert Amefu – Ghana Wrestling Association, Haruna Adamu – Scrabble Association of Ghana, Joseph Anim Wordie – Dwarf Sports Association of Ghana, Isaac Aboagye Duah – Ghana Tennis Federation, Johnson Gameli – West African Skate Union, Gideon Sackey – Ghana Weight Federation, Ayishatu Farida Iddriss – Ghana Swimming Association, Abdul-Aziz Issah – Ghana Rugby Football Union.

Rev. E.D Nikov – Netball Federation of Ghana, Michael Aggrey – Ghana Golf Association, Charles Obeng Amofah, and Charles Osei Asibey – Ghana Armwrestling Association.